This is information that will definitely help somebody. It is from the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission in the UK.  All expenses paid Scholarship plus monthly allowance included. Nigeria is part of the participating countries.

Commonwealth Shared Scholarships are for taught Master’s courses only. All courses undertaken must be demonstrably relevant to the economic, social or technological development of the candidate’s home country. Awards are available at participating institutions in the UK only.

Commonwealth Shared Scholarships prospectus 2012 – includes full details of the UK institutions offering Shared Scholarships in 2012. A hard copy of the prospectus can be obtained from the Shared Scholarship scheme administrators.

Please note that participating universities are required to support the student stipend for the award holder (at the rate set by the UK government). The CSC funds the cost of tuition fees (at overseas rate), return airfares, and other allowances.


Applicants must:

  1. be nationals of (or permanently domiciled in) a developing Commonwealth country, and not currently be living or studying in a developed country (please see the Shared Scholarships prospectus for a list of eligible countries)
  2. hold a first degree at either first or upper second class level
  3. be sufficiently fluent in English to pursue the course
  4. have not previously studied for one year or more in a developed country
  5. be able to confirm in writing that neither they or their families would otherwise be able to pay for the proposed course of study
  6. be willing to confirm that they will return to their home country as soon as their period of study is complete

How to apply

All enquiries should be addressed to the university at which you wish to study and through which you should therefore apply for a Shared Scholarship, not to the CSC. The university will advise you on eligibility issues and how to make an application. There are two options:

Option 1
Most universities will handle advertising and recruitment directly using their own application form, and you should therefore apply to the university direct. Following their closing date for applications, the university will ask those candidates which it selects to complete the CSC’s application form using our Electronic Application System (EAS). Please note that candidates must complete their application via the EAS by 17 May 2012 at the latest, in order to be nominated to the CSC by their host university.

Option 2
Some universities request all of their Shared Scholarship candidates to apply via the CSC’s Electronic Application System (EAS). You will be advised by the institution if this is the case, and should then access the EAS once it is open for Shared Scholarship applications by the end of October 2011. Applications must be submitted in time to meet the university’s own deadline, which will be made clear in the EAS and is listed in the Shared Scholarships prospectus. (Where a university has not specified a closing date, you should contact the institution to ascertain the latest date that applications will accepted).

All institutions are asked to forward their nominations to the CSC no later than 31 May 2012 using the EAS.

Further information about Shared Scholarships


FB Comment